Protecting the Elderly: What Are NYS Assembly Members Doing? NOTHING!!!

joel-landauallure

 

To: Walter Mosley <waltertmosley@gmail.com>; Joseph Yanis <yanisj@assembly.state.ny.us>; “cymbros@assembly.state.ny.us” <cymbros@assembly.state.ny.us>; Monica Miller <millerm@assembly.state.ny.us>; Kristin Williams <williamsk@assembly.state.ny.us>; Cathy Peake <peakec@assembly.state.ny.us>; Adrienne Knoll <knolla@assembly.state.ny.us>; JoAnn VanSlyke <vanslykej@assembly.state.ny.us>; JoAnne Simon <simonj@assembly.state.ny.us>; “felder@nysenate.gov” <felder@nysenate.gov>; “ott@nysenate.gov” <ott@nysenate.gov>; “bender@nysenate.gov” <bender@nysenate.gov>; Susan Serino <serino@nysenate.gov>; “farley@nysenate.gov” <farley@nysenate.gov>; “golden@nysenate.gov” <golden@nysenate.gov>; “hassellt@senate.state.ny.us” <hassellt@senate.state.ny.us>; Brad Hoylman <hoylman@nysenate.gov>; “eli@bradhoylman.com” <eli@bradhoylman.com>; “larkin@senate.state.ny.us” <larkin@senate.state.ny.us>; “little@nysenate.gov” <little@nysenate.gov>; “martins@nysenate.gov” <martins@nysenate.gov>; “montgome@nysenate.gov” <montgome@nysenate.gov>; Terrence P. Murphy <murphy@nysenate.gov>; “panepinto@nysenate.gov” <panepinto@nysenate.gov>; “grivera@nysenate.gov” <grivera@nysenate.gov>; “seward@nysenate.gov” <seward@nysenate.gov>; Catharine Young <cyoung@nysenate.gov>; Office of Assembly Member Dick Gottfried W. Paster <pasterw@assembly.state.ny.us>; Alyssa Jacobs <jacobsa@nyassembly.gov>; “braunsteine@assembly.state.ny.us” <braunsteine@assembly.state.ny.us>; “cahillk@assembly.state.ny.us” <cahillk@assembly.state.ny.us>; “clarkb@assembly.state.ny.us” <clarkb@assembly.state.ny.us>; “dinowij@assembly.state.ny.us” <dinowij@assembly.state.ny.us>; “galefs@assembly.state.ny.us” <galefs@assembly.state.ny.us>; “garbarinoa@assembly.state.ny.us” <garbarinoa@assembly.state.ny.us>; “goodella@assembly.state.ny.us” <goodella@assembly.state.ny.us>; “gunthea@assembly.state.ny.us” <gunthea@assembly.state.ny.us>; “hevesia@assembly.state.ny.us” <hevesia@assembly.state.ny.us>; “jaffeee@assembly.state.ny.us” <jaffeee@assembly.state.ny.us>; “lavinec@assembly.state.ny.us” <lavinec@assembly.state.ny.us>; “mayers@assembly.state.ny.us” <mayers@assembly.state.ny.us>; “mcdonoughd@assembly.state.ny.us” <mcdonoughd@assembly.state.ny.us>; “paulina@assembly.state.ny.us” <paulina@assembly.state.ny.us>; “parker@senate.state.ny.us” <parker@senate.state.ny.us>; “chauvin@nysenate.gov” <chauvin@nysenate.gov>; “rae@assembly.state.ny.us” <rae@assembly.state.ny.us>; “raiaa@assembly.state.ny.us” <raiaa@assembly.state.ny.us>; Assemblymember Linda B. Rosenthal <rosenthall@assembly.state.ny.us>; “schimmr@assembly.state.ny.us” <schimmr@assembly.state.ny.us>; “steckp@assembly.state.ny.us” <steckp@assembly.state.ny.us>; Michael Stinson <stinsonm@assembly.state.ny.us>; “titonem@assembly.state.ny.us” <titonem@assembly.state.ny.us>; “walterr@assembly.state.ny.us” <walterr@assembly.state.ny.us>; “diaz@nysenate.gov” <diaz@nysenate.gov>; “lavalle@nysenate.gov” <lavalle@nysenate.gov>; “valesky@nysenate.gov” <valesky@nysenate.gov>; Kathleen Marchione <marchione@nysenate.gov>
Cc: Ibrahim Khan <ikhan@pubadvocate.nyc.gov>; Kenya Handy <khandy@comptroller.nyc.gov>; Hakeem Jeffries <hakeemjeffries@yahoo.com>; Dell Smitherman <dell.smitherman@1199.org>; Martin Nicholas (Schumer) <nicholas_martin@schumer.senate.gov>; Susan Lerner <slerner@commoncause.org>; Laast Ousman (Gillibrand)

It would be very easy and disingenuous to allow the problems of flipped NYC nursing homes and long term care facilities to be solely the Mayor’s problem in the Rivington House and CABs scandal. Ownership must be taken by NYS Governor Cuomo who appoints a failed Public Health and Health Planning Council. The PHHPC continues to ignore past infractions and certifies bad actors pretending to be long term care manager/owners in total complicity with criminal harm to the disabled and vulnerable elderly.

With all due respect you must equally be held to account. The state Assembly and Senate have  sidestepped constructing a Bill to force would-be long term care owners (privatizing non-profits in huge numbers) to REQUIRE a minimum of ONE YEAR notification to resident/patients for appropriate transition time and concurrently discourage flippers of real estate-too often one and the same owners of nursing home titles.

The question must be asked-why?

The question must be posed…why do Leading Age…Hinman Straub…HANYS…NYSHFA…NYSCAL…HCA…FQC…AHCA…NCAL… Owner/Operator lobbying groups and their PACs continue to influence your legislation when victims who are ALSO your constituents-have no voice and are slaughtered with no sanctions unless they engage malpractice attorneys or Legal Aid comes to save them???

Please listen to the Brian Lehrer radio show interview/investigation link below-revolving around the Rivington House scam…but understand this is the tip of the iceberg-the answer that the Dept of Health is “investigating the inappropriate discharge” is tantamount to having the FOX investigate the problems in the  hen house!

You need to take ownership…this is a matter of flouting the Americans With Disability Act protections guaranteed to the sick-disabled-and a human rights violation. This is also who you are as a human being with  conscience-these could be your own elderly loved ones.

Thank you.

 

NYC Nursing Homes Evacuate Patients Without Plans

 

http://www.wnyc.org/story/relocation-rivington-house-nursing-home-patients/

Aug 31, 2016
When a New York nursing home is going to close, operators are supposed to give the State Department of Health 90 days’ notice and submit a detailed plan on how patients will be transferred. The agency has to approve the plan before anyone gets moved out. But, according to a three-month investigation by WNYC, that didn’t happen at two New York City nursing homes –The Rivington House on the Lower East Side and CABS Nursing Home in Bedford Stuyvesant. Both nursing homes were bought by the same company and then sold to real estate companies for profit without giving patients, staff, or public officials proper foresight or factual information about the closures.

Cindy Rodriguez, WNYC urban policy reporter, discussed her reporting, and news that the state will investigate improper transfers of those residents that come forward.

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s